top of page

2018 ABT Celebrated Women's Movement and Honored Philanthropist Sarah Arison at Its Annual Fall Gala Event…..!

NEW YORK, NY(SMIWIRE,10.18.18)-The American Ballet Theatre organization, held its annual black-tie fall gala this evening (Wednesday,October 17), celebrating the ABT Women's Movement and honoring Philanthropist, ABT Trustee and Education Committee Co-Chair, Sarah Arison with the Melville Strauss Leadeship Award, sponsored by Netflix at The David H. Koch Theater, Lincoln Center.


The ABT Women’s Movement is a multi-year initiative to support the creation, exploration and staging of new works by female choreographers for American Ballet Theatre and the ABT Studio Company.  The ABT Women’s Movement will supports three female choreographers every year to create new works for American Ballet Theatre. 

In most years, one work will be designated for ABT’s main Company, one for the ABT Studio Company and one will be a work-in-process workshop for ABT or Studio Company dancers.  Each choreographer will work with her respective group of dancers for a two-to-five week period, receiving guidance and feedback from ABT’s artistic staff.

This year gala honoree was philanthropist, ABT Trustee and Education

Committee Co-Chair, Sarah Arison, who was presented with the Melville Strauss Leadership Award in recognition of her dedication, service and generosity to ABT and the arts community.

Honrees Attendees inlcuded:Katie Holmes, Ansel Elgort and Violetta Komyshan, Olivia Palermo and Johannes Huebl, Tory Burch, Wes Gordon, Diane Sawyer and Geoffrey Zakarian will join American Ballet Theatre in celebrating the Spring 2018 Gala. Additional notable attendees will include: Misty Copeland, Stella Abrera, Nell Diamond, Allison Sarofim, Pari Ehsan, Indre Rockefeller, Casey Fremont, Jordan Roth, Yana Peel, Lucy Sykes and Euan Rellie, Carlos Souza, Yvonne Force Villareal, Deborah Roberts, Charlotte Moss, Adrienne Arsht, Katherine Nicholls, Gala Honoree Sarah Arison, Honorary Chair Caroline Kennedy, Chairs Emily Blavatnik, Jenna Segal and Sutton Stracke, Co-Chairs Amy Astley, Hamish Bowles, Anh Duong


bottom of page