top of page

Judith Light Awarded the 17th Annual Monte Cristo Award by The Eugene O'Neill Theater Center !

New York(SMI-WIRE,05.21.17)The Eugene O'Neil Theater Center, hosted it's prestigious Annual

" Monte Cristo Award " this evening, honoring legendary American Actress & Producer " Judith Light " and awarding her with the 17th Monte Cristo Award in the Big Apple.

The Monte Cristo Award is presented to a prominent theater artist each year in recognition of a distinguished career exemplifying Eugene O'Neill's " pioneering spirit, unceasing artistic commitment, and excellence." Past recipient of the Award of the Award include Meryl Streep, Christopher Plummer, Michael Douglas, James Earl Jones, Nathan Lane, Harold Prince, Kevin Spacey, Neil Simon, Jason Robards, Jr., Edward Albee, August Wilson, Zoe Caldwell, George C. Wolfe, Brian Dennehy, Karl Malden, Arthur & Barbara Gelb, and Wendy Wasserstein.

Judith Light: The 17th Annual Monte Cristo Award Recipient:

JJudith Light is an American actress and producer. She is a two-time Tony Award winner.

Light made her professional stage debut in 1970, before making her  Broadway debut in the 1975 revival of  A Doll's House. Her breakthrough role was in the ABC daytime soap opera One life to live from 1977 to 1983, where she played the role of  Karen Wolek. For this role, she won two Daytime Emmy Awards for Outstanding  Lead Actress in a Drama Series. She later starred as Angela Bower in the long-running ABC sitcom Who's the Boss ? from 1984 to 1992, and later starred in many television films and short-lived series. She played the recurring role of Elisabeth Donnelly in the NBC legal crime drama Law & Order: Special Victims Unit (2002–2010) and Claire Meade in the ABC comedy-drama Ugly Betty (2006–2010), for which she was nominated for a Primetime Emmy Award in 2007.

She received her first nomination for a Tony Award in 2011, for her performance in the original Broadway play Lombardi. In 2012 and 2013, Light won two consecutive Tony Awards for Best Featured Actress in a Play, for her performances in Other Desert Cities and The Assembled Parties. From 2013 to 2014, Light played the role of villainous Judith Brown Ryland in the TNT drama series, Dallas. In 2014, she began starring as Shelly Pfefferman in the Amazon Studios critically acclaimed dark comedy-drama, Transparent for which she received Golden Globe, Primetime Emmy, and Critics' Choice Television Award nominations.

Founded in 1964, the O’Neill is the country’s preeminent organization dedicated to the 

development of new works and new voices for the American theater, and been home to 

more than 1,000 new works for the stage and thousands more emerging artists. Scores of 

projects developed at the O’Neill have gone on to full production at theaters around the 


The O’Neill is the recipient of two Tony Awards and the National Medal of Arts for its 

contributions to American culture, and named in honor of Eugene O’Neill, four-time Pulitzer Prize-winner and America’s only playwright to win the Nobel Prize in Literature. The O’Neill has. O’Neill programs include the National Playwrights Conference, National Music Theater Conference, National Critics Institute, National Puppetry Conference, Cabaret & Performance Conference, and National Theater Institute – which offers six credit-earning undergraduate training programs. In addition, the O’Neill owns and operates Monte Cristo Cottage as a museum open to the public..

The O’Neill owns and operates the Monte Cristo Cottage as a museum open to the public. 

The childhood summer home of Eugene O’Neill, the Cottage is a National Historic Landmark.

bottom of page